NEW COURSE DATES - Rescheduled from 4/23 & 4/25 to May 1 & 2, 2019
THIS COURSE IS 8 HOURS IN LENGTH. PARTICIPANTS MUST BE PRESENT FOR ALL 8 HOURS!!
This is a New York State certified course on the safe operation of boats and personal watercraft. As of 1/1/09, all personal watercraft operators are required to be 14 years of age and older, possessing a NYS boating safety certificate.
Who needs a boating safety certificate?
Motorboats: If you were born on or after May 1, 1996 you will need a boating safety certificate.
Personal Watercraft: If you are 14 years of age or older you must have a boating safety certificate.
If you are a New York resident you will need to have a NYS boating safety certificate; if you are from out of state New York recognizes the boating safety certificate issued by your home state.
Certain allowances to this law have been made for visitors to New York, persons renting a boat from a livery and persons purchasing a new boat for the first time.
Operators of sailboats, kayaks, standup paddleboards, rowboats, canoes and any other watercraft without a motor are not required to have a boating safety certificate to be on the water.
*New York Safe Boating textbook is now available on-line for students to read and study before coming to class - located at https://parks.ny.gov/recreation/boating/education.aspx or https://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/nysparks/ny_boatingsafety18/
Read all chapters prior to class. Downloading or printing a copy if you are able to is recommended. Don't forget a pen/pencil/highlighter, there will be a test at the end of this class.